0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > Genre fiction > Historical fiction

Buy Now

Take My Hand - The inspiring and unforgettable new novel from the New York Times bestseller (Hardcover) Loot Price: R317
Discovery Miles 3 170
You Save: R69 (18%)
Take My Hand - The inspiring and unforgettable new novel from the New York Times bestseller (Hardcover): Dolen Perkins-Valdez

Take My Hand - The inspiring and unforgettable new novel from the New York Times bestseller (Hardcover)

Dolen Perkins-Valdez

 (sign in to rate)
List price R386 Loot Price R317 Discovery Miles 3 170 You Save R69 (18%)

Bookmark and Share

Expected to ship within 9 - 15 working days

Add a Casual Day Sticker for R20

'Unforgettable' Celeste Ng 'One hell of a book' Stylist 'Heartbreaking and utterly immersive' Kirsty Capes 'Deeply moving' AJ Pearce 'Wonderful' Cathy Rentzenbrink 'Magnificent' Bonnie Garmus 'Brims with hope' Elle 'Storytelling at its finest' Glamour ---------------- HISTORY REPEATS WHAT WE DON'T REMEMBER . . . Montgomery, Alabama. 1973. Fresh out of nursing school, Civil Townsend has big plans to make a difference in her community. At the Montgomery Family Planning Clinic, she intends to help women make their own choices for their lives and bodies. But when her first week on the job takes her down a dusty country road to a tumbledown cabin, she's surprised to find that her new patients are just eleven and thirteen years old. Neither of the Williams sisters has even kissed a boy, but they are poor and Black, and for those handling their welfare benefits, that's reason enough to have the girls on birth control. As Civil grapples with her new responsibilities, she takes India and Erica into her heart and comes to care for their family as though they were her own. But one day she arrives at their door to discover the unthinkable has happened, and nothing will ever be the same. Inspired by true events and a shocking chapter of American history, Take My Hand is a novel that will open your eyes and break your heart. An unforgettable story about love and courage, sisterhood and solidarity, it is also a timely and hopeful reminder that it only takes one person to change the world. ---------------- Readers have been captivated by TAKE MY HAND too: ***** 'Incredibly powerful, moving and heartbreaking' ***** 'Realistic historical fiction at its best' ***** 'Fans of The Colour Purple, The Help, Where Crawdads Sing and To Kill A Mockingbird will love this' ***** 'Stunning, shocking, absolutely fantastic novel . . . I could not put this down!' ***** 'Definitely a must-read. So, so moving. Can't recommend highly enough'

General

Imprint: Orion Books Ltd
Country of origin: United Kingdom
Release date: May 2022
Authors: Dolen Perkins-Valdez
Dimensions: 220 x 140 x 38mm (L x W x T)
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 368
ISBN-13: 978-1-4746-2267-7
Categories: Books > Fiction > General & literary fiction > Modern fiction
Books > Fiction > Genre fiction > Historical fiction
Books > Fiction > True stories > General
Books > Health, Home & Family > Family & health > Popular medicine > Women's health
Books > Medicine > General issues > Public health & preventive medicine > Personal & public health > Birth control, contraception, family planning
LSN: 1-4746-2267-4
Barcode: 9781474622677

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners