0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Browse All departments
  • All departments
Price
  • R100 - R250 (7)
  • R250 - R500 (6)
  • -
Status
Brand

Showing 1 - 13 of 13 matches in All departments

Awake in the World (Paperback): Jason Gurley Awake in the World (Paperback)
Jason Gurley 1
R170 R129 Discovery Miles 1 290 Save R41 (24%) Shipped within 4 - 8 working days

Vanessa has been reaching for the stars since she was a little girl, and is determined to get into her dream Ivy League university to study astronomy.

Zach is a talented artist, but he’s not even thinking about college. He needs to stay home and support his family, working on the same oil rig where his dad was killed in an accident.

Their future looks poles apart… but then again, opposites attract.

A gorgeous romance about that special person who changes everything – perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon.

Awake in the World (Hardcover): Jason Gurley Awake in the World (Hardcover)
Jason Gurley
R330 R263 Discovery Miles 2 630 Save R67 (20%) Shipped within 7 - 12 working days

As the sun sets off the coast of the small California town of Orilla del Cielo, you can see the silhouettes of the oil rigs. Their shadows look jarring against the serene backdrop, their sharpness a reminder of unfulfilled promises. To Zach, they are a reminder of loss - his father, an oil worker who drowned years before. With a poor family struggling to make ends meet, Zach's future feels equally bleak. Until he meets Vanessa, an optimistic girl whose sights are literally set on the stars. Inspired by her idol, Carl Sagan, she plans to study astronomy at Cornell. But as oil prospectors in search of black gold know, the future is uncertain - and fortunes can always be flipped. Jason Gurley delivers a gorgeous debut young adult novel about dreams and believing in love - and yourself - to reach them.

Eleanor (Paperback): Jason Gurley Eleanor (Paperback)
Jason Gurley 1
R213 R150 Discovery Miles 1 500 Save R63 (30%) Shipped within 7 - 12 working days

1962, Anchor Bend, Oregon. The sea calls to Eleanor. Like the turn of the waves it beckons her from the heart of the town she's always known, from her husband Hob and their young daughter, Agnes, to the unfathomable depths of the ocean. 1985 Agnes's daughter Eleanor is six years old. She shares her name with the grandmother she never knew and everything else with her identical twin, Esmerelda. But to Agnes, only Eleanor is a constant reminder of the past. 1993 After a dark event leaves her family in tatters, Eleanor, now fourteen, is left caring for her alcoholic mother, whose grief has torn her apart. But when Eleanor's reality begins to unravel, she starts to lose her grip on time itself, slipping from the present into strange other lands where she's in danger of losing herself altogether. Eleanor is the story of choices that ripple through time far beyond the moment they're made. And what happens when, just sometimes, bonds are so powerful they reach beyond this world and into another...

Desperate to Escape - The Complete Novel (Paperback): Thomas Robins Desperate to Escape - The Complete Novel (Paperback)
Thomas Robins; Edited by Ann Marie Robins; Illustrated by Jason Gurley
R181 Discovery Miles 1 810 Shipped within 7 - 11 working days
Deep Breath Hold Tight - Stories about the End of Everything (Paperback): Jason Gurley Deep Breath Hold Tight - Stories about the End of Everything (Paperback)
Jason Gurley
R279 Discovery Miles 2 790 Shipped within 7 - 11 working days

"Jason Gurley will be a household name one day." - Hugh Howey, New York Times bestselling author of Wool A new father on a forever-long journey in the wrong direction. The last stowaway at the end of the world. A woman who witnesses mankind's last day. A man whose breath is ice-cold, though it's the depths of summer. An agent hunting for a woman at the edge of the solar system. A reluctant widower who leaves his home to become an astronaut. A boy who turns into a wolf as civilization crumbles around him. Deep Breath Hold Tight is a collection of powerful short stories about humans facing the end of everything.

Wolf Skin (a Short Story) (Paperback): Jason Gurley Wolf Skin (a Short Story) (Paperback)
Jason Gurley
R125 Discovery Miles 1 250 Shipped within 7 - 11 working days

He remembers video games. His mother's cooking. His father's awkward sense of humor. He remembers air conditioning and warm beds and graduation. But all of that was before the end of the world. Now he is a survivor, one of them - part of a roving clan of killers that combs through the ruined neighborhoods and towns, looking for things to steal, men to butcher, women to enslave and abuse. Then he meets a woman who could kill him without blinking, and together they escape the world that was...

The Dark Age - A Short Story (Paperback): Jason Gurley The Dark Age - A Short Story (Paperback)
Jason Gurley
R125 Discovery Miles 1 250 Shipped within 7 - 11 working days

(The Dark Age is a short story.) On the day she was born, he left for the stars. He watches her grow up on screens. Misses her first words. Misses her first steps. She's never kissed his scratchy cheek, or fallen asleep on his shoulder. He's never wiped away her tears, or sung her to sleep. Now she's a toddler, and he's about to enter hibernation sleep -- and when he wakes nearly 150 years in the future, his family will be gone. This is a short story for every father who never wants his daughter to grow up.

The Caretaker - A Short Story (Paperback): Jason Gurley The Caretaker - A Short Story (Paperback)
Jason Gurley
R125 Discovery Miles 1 250 Shipped within 7 - 11 working days

She's only the house-sitter. Alice Quayle lives on the space station Argus. She wakes to the sun breaking over Africa. She keeps watch over the experiments. She makes sure the station doesn't explode. And she's the only occupant of the space station when the world far below her comes apart in flame.

The Last Rail-Rider - A Short Story about the End of the World (Paperback): Jason Gurley The Last Rail-Rider - A Short Story about the End of the World (Paperback)
Jason Gurley
R125 Discovery Miles 1 250 Shipped within 7 - 11 working days

He doesn't remember the days before the sickness. He only knows the world since it went bad. The empty towns. The rusted-out cars. The corpses, everywhere. He doesn't know why he rides the rails. He just does. The trains never take him away from the ruin. The trains never take him anywhere. Until one day they carry him to a little town called Black Hole, Kentucky, and he meets a strange woman who knows him. Who knows everything.

The Colonists (Paperback): Jason Gurley The Colonists (Paperback)
Jason Gurley
R286 Discovery Miles 2 860 Shipped within 7 - 11 working days

Book 2 of The Movement Trilogy Earth has become an artifact of history. Children are no longer taught that it is the birthplace of mankind. For them, history begins with the Citadel, the enormous institution that governs the system with a heavy, vicious fist. Three hundred years have passed since the events of Book 1. The Machine class, oppressed and broken, has scattered throughout the system, building outposts and colonies on every surface they can find. They rely upon the Onyx class, the privileged ones, for sustenance. But the most brutal attack in human history relights the fuse of war between the two classes, and rebellions break out on every moon, planet and rock between Earth and the stars. And somewhere in the chaos, Tasneem Kyoh and David Dewbury still fight for mankind's future... a new Earth, and a new beginning. The Colonists, the second title in Jason Gurley's Movement Trilogy, continues the epic story of humanity's greatest struggle, and its desperate battle with its most powerful enemy: itself.

The Settlers (Paperback): Jason Gurley The Settlers (Paperback)
Jason Gurley
R283 Discovery Miles 2 830 Shipped within 7 - 11 working days

Book 1 of The Movement Trilogy Earth is on the brink of ruin. Great storms destroy cities. Rising seas reshape the continents. Afraid for its survival, mankind constructs a fleet of space stations in orbit, and steps off-world. Among the humans fighting for their future are Micah Sparrow, a widower who uncovers a plot to return mankind to the dark ages; Tasneem Kyoh, who undergoes life-extension treatments and begins the search for humanity's next home; and David Dewbury, a prodigy who believes he knows where that home might be. But in space, the rules aren't the only things that have changed. Man himself has changed, and with the Earth in tatters behind him, man turns his attention to the one thing left to destroy: himself. The Settlers is the explosive first book in Jason Gurley's Movement Trilogy, the epic story of man's small step into space, and the great leaps humanity must make to save its own future.

The Man Who Ended the World (Paperback): Jason Gurley The Man Who Ended the World (Paperback)
Jason Gurley
R279 Discovery Miles 2 790 Shipped within 7 - 11 working days
Eleanor (Paperback): Jason Gurley Eleanor (Paperback)
Jason Gurley
R292 R274 Discovery Miles 2 740 Save R18 (6%) Shipped within 7 - 11 working days
Free Delivery
Pinterest Twitter Facebook Google+
You may like...
Voyager 10 X 25 Binoculars - Black 10x25
R400 R299 Discovery Miles 2 990
Microsoft Xbox One X Console…
 (33)
R8,999 R7,999 Discovery Miles 79 990
Swiss Mobile QUALCOMM Micro-USB Wall…
R249 R176 Discovery Miles 1 760
Nescafe Dolce Gusto Stelia Coffee…
R2,999 R1,799 Discovery Miles 17 990
Nescafé Dolce Gusto Vanilla Latte…
R89 R49 Discovery Miles 490
Hisense LEDN50A6100UW 50" LED UHD Smart…
 (12)
R7,499 R5,799 Discovery Miles 57 990
Blackcherry Hessian Cross Body Bag…
R319 R269 Discovery Miles 2 690
GOTCHA Digital 50M-WR Gents Watch
R198 Discovery Miles 1 980
Ultra Link 100 X Solar Fairy String…
R250 R229 Discovery Miles 2 290
Kingsons Valentine Series Shoulder Bag…
 (7)
R375 R278 Discovery Miles 2 780

 

Partners