0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > History > American history

Buy Now

The Boys in the Boat - Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Large print, Paperback, Large type / large print edition) Loot Price: R401
Discovery Miles 4 010
You Save: R51 (11%)

The Boys in the Boat - Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Large print, Paperback, Large type / large print edition)

Daniel James Brown

 (sign in to rate)
List price R452 Loot Price R401 Discovery Miles 4 010 You Save R51 (11%)

Bookmark and Share

Expected to ship within 7 - 11 work days

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics

Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.

The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious

General

Imprint: Large Print Press
Country of origin: United States
Release date: June 2014
First published: June 2014
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Dimensions: 215 x 140 x 35mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback - Trade
Pages: 741
Edition: Large type / large print edition
ISBN-13: 978-1-59413-779-2
Categories: Books > Humanities > History > American history > General
Books > Humanities > History > History of specific subjects > General
Books > Sport & Leisure > Sports & outdoor recreation > Sporting events, tours & organisations > Olympic games
Books > Humanities > History > World history > From 1900 > General
Books > Sport & Leisure > Sports & outdoor recreation > Water sports & recreations > Boating > General
Books > History > American history > General
Books > History > History of specific subjects > General
Books > History > World history > From 1900 > General
LSN: 1-59413-779-X
Barcode: 9781594137792

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners