0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > History > American history

Buy Now

The Boys in the Boat - Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Hardcover, Large type / large print edition) Loot Price: R928
Discovery Miles 9 280
  • This item is a special order that could take a long time to obtain.

The Boys in the Boat - Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Hardcover, Large type / large...

The Boys in the Boat - Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics (Hardcover, Large type / large print edition)

Daniel James Brown

 (sign in to rate)
Loot Price R928 Discovery Miles 9 280 | Repayment Terms: R85 pm x 12*

Bookmark and Share

Supplier out of stock. If you add this item to your wish list we will let you know when it becomes available.

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's "Seabiscuit" and "Unbroken," the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics
"
"Daniel James Brown's robust book tells the story of the University of Washington's 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of Americans. The sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the boys defeated elite rivals first from eastern and British universities and finally the German crew rowing for Adolf Hitler in the Olympic games in Berlin, 1936.
The emotional heart of the story lies with one rower, Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not for glory, but to regain his shattered self-regard and to find a place he can call home. The crew is assembled by an enigmatic coach and mentored by a visionary, eccentric British boat builder, but it is their trust in each other that makes them a victorious team. They remind the country of what can be done when everyone quite literally pulls together--a perfect melding of commitment, determination, and optimism.
Drawing on the boys' own diaries and journals, their photos and memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, "The Boys in the Boat "is an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times--the improbable, intimate story of nine working-class boys from the American west who, in the depths of the Great Depression, showed the world what true grit really meant. It will appeal to readers of Erik Larson, Timothy Egan, James Bradley, and David Halberstam's "The Amateurs."

General

Imprint: Thorndike Press
Country of origin: United States
Release date: July 2013
First published: July 2013
Authors: Daniel James Brown
Dimensions: 218 x 145 x 38mm (L x W x T)
Format: Hardcover - Sewn / Paper over boards
Pages: 743
Edition: Large type / large print edition
ISBN-13: 978-1-4104-5954-1
Categories: Books > Humanities > History
Books > Sport & Leisure > Sports & outdoor recreation
Books > Humanities > History > World history
Books > Humanities > History > American history
Books > Humanities > History > History of specific subjects
Books > Sport & Leisure > Sports & outdoor recreation > Sporting events, tours & organisations
Books > Sport & Leisure > Sports & outdoor recreation > Water sports & recreations
Books > Humanities > History > World history > From 1900
Books > Humanities > History > American history > General
Books > Humanities > History > History of specific subjects > General
Books > Sport & Leisure > Sports & outdoor recreation > Sporting events, tours & organisations > Olympic games
Books > Sport & Leisure > Sports & outdoor recreation > Water sports & recreations > Boating
Books > Humanities > History > World history > From 1900 > General
Books > Sport & Leisure > Sports & outdoor recreation > Water sports & recreations > Boating > General
Books > History > American history
Books > History > American history > General
Books > History > History of specific subjects
Books > History > History of specific subjects > General
Books > History > World history
Books > History > World history > From 1900
Books > History > World history > From 1900 > General
LSN: 1-4104-5954-3
Barcode: 9781410459541

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners