Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > History > Asian / Middle Eastern history

Buy Now

The Journey of Liu Xiaobo - From Dark Horse to Nobel Laureate (Hardcover) Loot Price: R651
Discovery Miles 6 510
You Save: R156 (19%)
The Journey of Liu Xiaobo - From Dark Horse to Nobel Laureate (Hardcover): Joanne Leedom-Ackerman, Yu Zhang, Jie Li, Tienchi...

The Journey of Liu Xiaobo - From Dark Horse to Nobel Laureate (Hardcover)

Joanne Leedom-Ackerman, Yu Zhang, Jie Li, Tienchi Martin-Liao

 (sign in to rate)
List price R807 Loot Price R651 Discovery Miles 6 510 | Repayment Terms: R60 pm x 12* You Save R156 (19%)

Bookmark and Share

Expected to ship within 10 - 15 working days

In 2009 the Chinese government put Liu Xiaobo, a celebrated poet, essayist, critic, activist, and thinker, into a cage. He was labeled as "an enemy of the state," charged with "inciting subversion of state power," and sentenced to 11 years' imprisonment. His insistence on individual liberty in his own 1000+ essays and 18 books, his relentless pursuit of ideas, and his last statement to the Chinese court: "I have no enemies, no hatred," had threatened the Chinese Communist Party and government in a way few other citizens had. The Journey of Liu Xiaobo explores, analyzes, and celebrates the life and legacy of Liu Xiaobo. The book presents a unique portrait of Liu Xiaobo from many who knew him during his life, from childhood to his final days. This collection of over eighty short essays and reflections are likely the largest gathering of writers from the Chinese Democracy Movement in one volume, and contribute basic texts to understanding the man who has been compared to Nelson Mandela, Vaclav Havel, and Aung San Sui Kyi in his importance to the development and progress of China toward a free society. These rich offerings from leading Chinese writers and intellectuals within and outside the mainland as well as from noted China scholars and journalists and political leaders around the globe present a personal as well as an intellectual portrait. Most of the texts were written at a seminal moment - in the days, weeks and months right after the death of Liu Xiaobo. The essays in the book are arranged by chronological focus: Youth and University Days, Tiananmen Square, Prison, Independent Chinese PEN Center, Charter 08, Nobel Peace Prize, Death ... and Beyond. The reader is treated to a trove of original and poignant memories as well as insightful analyses of China's history and the period in which Liu lived and an evaluation of Liu's impact on his times.


Imprint: University of Nebraska Press
Country of origin: United States
Release date: April 2020
Editors: Joanne Leedom-Ackerman • Yu Zhang • Jie Li • Tienchi Martin-Liao
Dimensions: 228 x 152 x 48mm (L x W x T)
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 464
ISBN-13: 978-1-64012-224-6
Categories: Books > Language & Literature > Biography & autobiography > Historical, political & military
Books > Humanities > History > Asian / Middle Eastern history > General
Books > Social sciences > Politics & government > Political control & freedoms > General
Books > History > Asian / Middle Eastern history > General
Books > Biography > Historical, political & military
LSN: 1-64012-224-9
Barcode: 9781640122246

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!