0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Fiction > True stories > Endurance & survival

Buy Now

The Auschwitz Photographer - Based on the true story of Wilhelm Brasse prisoner 3444 (Hardcover) Loot Price: R328
Discovery Miles 3 280
You Save: R63 (16%)
The Auschwitz Photographer - Based on the true story of Wilhelm Brasse prisoner 3444 (Hardcover): Luca Crippa, Maurizio Onnis

The Auschwitz Photographer - Based on the true story of Wilhelm Brasse prisoner 3444 (Hardcover)

Luca Crippa, Maurizio Onnis

 (sign in to rate)
List price R391 Loot Price R328 Discovery Miles 3 280 You Save R63 (16%)

Bookmark and Share

Expected to ship within 10 - 20 working days

Based on the powerful true story of Auschwitz prisoner Wilhelm Brasse, whose photographs helped to expose the atrocities of the Holocaust. 'Horror in sharp focus... important, because the world must know.' John Lewis-Stempel, Daily Express __________ When Germany invaded Wilhelm Brasse's native Poland in 1939, he was asked to swear allegiance to Hitler and join the Wehrmacht. He refused. He was deported to Auschwitz concentration camp as political prisoner number 3444. A trained portrait photographer, he was ordered by the SS to record the inner workings of the camp. He began by taking identification photographs of prisoners as they entered the camp, went on to capture the criminal medical experiments of Josef Mengele, and also recorded executions. Between 1940 and 1945, Brasse took around 50,000 photographs of the horror around him. He took them because he had no choice. Eventually, Brasse's conscience wouldn't allow him to hide behind his camera. First he risked his life by joining the camp's Resistance movement, faking documents for prisoners, trying to smuggle images to the outside world to reveal what was happening. Then, when Soviet troops finally advanced on the camp to liberate it, Brasse refused SS orders to destroy his photographs. 'Because the world must know,' he said. For readers of The Librarian of Auschwitz and The Boy Who Followed His Father into Auschwitz, this powerful true story of hope and courage lies at the very centre of Holocaust history. __________ 'A remarkable tale of survival against the odds... an enthralling book.' The Sydney Morning Herald 'Brasse has left us with a powerful legacy in images. Because of them we can see the victims of the Holocaust as human and not statistics.' Fergal Keane

General

Imprint: Doubleday
Country of origin: United Kingdom
Release date: March 2021
Authors: Luca Crippa • Maurizio Onnis
Dimensions: 224 x 145 x 29mm (L x W x T)
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 304
ISBN-13: 978-0-85752-716-5
Categories: Books > Language & Literature > Biography & autobiography > Historical, political & military
Books > Fiction > True stories > Endurance & survival
Books > Humanities > History > World history > General
Books > History > World history > General
Books > Biography > Historical, political & military
LSN: 0-85752-716-9
Barcode: 9780857527165

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners