0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Browse All departments
Price
  • R50 - R100 (3)
  • R100 - R250 (189)
  • R250 - R500 (371)
  • R500+ (279)
  • -
Status
Format
Author / Contributor
Publisher

Books > Sport & Leisure > Sports & outdoor recreation > Equestrian & animal sports > Horse racing

Meadow Skipper - The Untold Story (Paperback): Victoria M. Howard, Bob Marks, Freddie Hudson Meadow Skipper - The Untold Story (Paperback)
Victoria M. Howard, Bob Marks, Freddie Hudson
R238 Discovery Miles 2 380 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Pick More Winners - Point Value Formula (Paperback): Dr Vance Penn Pick More Winners - Point Value Formula (Paperback)
Dr Vance Penn
R183 Discovery Miles 1 830 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Roosevelt Raceway Where It All Began (Paperback): Billy Haughton, Victoria M. Howard, Freddie Hudson Roosevelt Raceway Where It All Began (Paperback)
Billy Haughton, Victoria M. Howard, Freddie Hudson
R385 Discovery Miles 3 850 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
The Greatness of Galileo 2019 - The History Making Record Breaking Horse (Paperback): Anne Alston, Paul Rhodes The Greatness of Galileo 2019 - The History Making Record Breaking Horse (Paperback)
Anne Alston, Paul Rhodes
R532 Discovery Miles 5 320 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Handicapper's Reference Guide Thoroughbred Racing Volume II Computerized Handicapping (Paperback): Kathy Springs Handicapper's Reference Guide Thoroughbred Racing Volume II Computerized Handicapping (Paperback)
Kathy Springs; Jr Commodore Springs
R540 Discovery Miles 5 400 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
How to Pick Long Shots - A Step by Step Guide to Finding Extreme Value at the Race Track (Paperback): Christian Blake How to Pick Long Shots - A Step by Step Guide to Finding Extreme Value at the Race Track (Paperback)
Christian Blake
R335 Discovery Miles 3 350 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
He Came Looking for Me - A Horse's True Story of Hope and Redemption (Paperback): Lynn Baber He Came Looking for Me - A Horse's True Story of Hope and Redemption (Paperback)
Lynn Baber
R284 R246 Discovery Miles 2 460 Save R38 (13%) Ships in 7 - 11 working days
European Group 1 Winners of 2018 (Paperback): Sieglinde Mcgee European Group 1 Winners of 2018 (Paperback)
Sieglinde Mcgee
R432 Discovery Miles 4 320 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Breeds and Breeding of Horses, Cattle, Sheep, Pigs, Goats and Poultry - With Particular Attention to Horses Including a... Breeds and Breeding of Horses, Cattle, Sheep, Pigs, Goats and Poultry - With Particular Attention to Horses Including a Detailed Veterinary Section by L. H. Archer (Paperback)
Various, J Prince-Sheldon
R603 Discovery Miles 6 030 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Mechanics Applied to the Race Horse - With a Study of the Construction and Functions of the Hind Legs (Paperback): Colonel H.... Mechanics Applied to the Race Horse - With a Study of the Construction and Functions of the Hind Legs (Paperback)
Colonel H. Couste; Introduction by Jackson Chambers
R305 Discovery Miles 3 050 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Duel for the Crown - Affirmed, Alydar, and Racing's Greatest Rivalry (Paperback): Linda Carroll, David Rosner Duel for the Crown - Affirmed, Alydar, and Racing's Greatest Rivalry (Paperback)
Linda Carroll, David Rosner
R544 R463 Discovery Miles 4 630 Save R81 (15%) Ships in 7 - 11 working days

From the moment they first galloped head-to-head in Saratoga Springs, the two chestnut colts showed they were the stuff of racing legend. Alydar, all muscle with a fearsome closing kick, was already the popular favorite to win the Kentucky Derby. Affirmed, deceptively laid-back streamlined elegance, was powered forward by his steely determination not to settle for second place.
In the Sport of Kings, the Triple Crown is the most valued prize, requiring a horse to win not just one race, but three: the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness Stakes, and the Belmont Stakes. And 1978 would not be just for the record books, but also one of the greatest dramas ever played out in the racing world.
There were names to conjure with, worthy of the Sport of Kings. The bloodline of Native Dancer. The teen wonderboy jockey Steve Cauthen. The once unbeatable Calumet Farm--the Damn Yankees of the racing world--now in eclipse and hoping for a comeback. The newcomer Harbor View Farm--owned by brash financier Louis Wolfson, who wouldn't let even a conviction and a prison sentence for securities violations stand in the way of his dreams of glory. And the racetracks themselves: Belmont, Saratoga, Pimlico. And, of course, Churchill Downs.
It has been thirty-five years since Affirmed and Alydar fought for the Triple Crown, thirty-five years when no other horse has won it. "Duel for the Crown" brings this epic battle to life. Not just two magnificent Thoroughbreds but the colorful human personalities surrounding them, caught up in an ever-intensifying battle of will and wits that lasted until the photo finish of the final Triple Crown race . . . and Alydar and Affirmed leaped into the history books.

Horseracing Win Bets - The simple guide to understanding and playing win bets. For thoroughbred action in the United States.... Horseracing Win Bets - The simple guide to understanding and playing win bets. For thoroughbred action in the United States. (Paperback)
Glen Morris
R525 Discovery Miles 5 250 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
All My Horse Racing Heroes Autograph Book - For the Fans of Famous and Undiscovered Horse Racers, Who Dream to Have Memorabilia... All My Horse Racing Heroes Autograph Book - For the Fans of Famous and Undiscovered Horse Racers, Who Dream to Have Memorabilia Filled with Their Athletic Sports Idols Signatures and Pictures. (Paperback)
Eventful Books
R232 Discovery Miles 2 320 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Winter Heroes - Hurdlers & Chasers to Follow 2018-2019 (Paperback): Kel Mansfield Winter Heroes - Hurdlers & Chasers to Follow 2018-2019 (Paperback)
Kel Mansfield
R154 Discovery Miles 1 540 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Horse Racing Notebook (Paperback): Nick Walsh Horse Racing Notebook (Paperback)
Nick Walsh
R234 Discovery Miles 2 340 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
David Cassidy - Crazy Over You in Saratoga: Ain't no rock'n'roll story: It's a special tribute to a music... David Cassidy - Crazy Over You in Saratoga: Ain't no rock'n'roll story: It's a special tribute to a music legend's love of horses and the fans he loved (Paperback)
Marlene Habib
R280 Discovery Miles 2 800 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Show Jump Notebook (Paperback): Nick Walsh Show Jump Notebook (Paperback)
Nick Walsh
R238 Discovery Miles 2 380 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Show Jumping (Paperback): Nick Walsh Show Jumping (Paperback)
Nick Walsh
R234 Discovery Miles 2 340 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Straight From the Horse's Mouth (Paperback): Roly Armitage Straight From the Horse's Mouth (Paperback)
Roly Armitage
R342 Discovery Miles 3 420 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Harness Racing - Notebook Large Size 8.5 x 11 Ruled 150 Pages (Paperback): Wild Pages Press Harness Racing - Notebook Large Size 8.5 x 11 Ruled 150 Pages (Paperback)
Wild Pages Press
R189 Discovery Miles 1 890 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Insiders Guide to Saratoga Race Course 2018 (Paperback): Doug Schreiber, Joe Haedrich Insiders Guide to Saratoga Race Course 2018 (Paperback)
Doug Schreiber, Joe Haedrich
R237 Discovery Miles 2 370 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
The American Thoroughbred Horse (Paperback): Charles E. Trevathan The American Thoroughbred Horse (Paperback)
Charles E. Trevathan; Introduction by Jackson Chambers
R637 Discovery Miles 6 370 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Hints on Driving (Paperback): C.Morley Knight Hints on Driving (Paperback)
C.Morley Knight
R349 Discovery Miles 3 490 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Hints on Driving (Paperback): C.Morley Knight Hints on Driving (Paperback)
C.Morley Knight
R180 Discovery Miles 1 800 Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Arlington Park Racetrack (Hardcover): Kimberly A Rinker Arlington Park Racetrack (Hardcover)
Kimberly A Rinker
R737 R577 Discovery Miles 5 770 Save R160 (22%) Ships in 7 - 11 working days
Free Delivery
Pinterest Twitter Facebook Google+
You may like...
Seabiscuit - The True Story of Three Men…
Laura Hillenbrand Paperback  (3)
R314 R231 Discovery Miles 2 310
Form - My Autobiography
Kieren Fallon Hardcover  (1)
R571 R371 Discovery Miles 3 710
Remarkable Racecourses
Tom Peacock Hardcover  (1)
R757 R542 Discovery Miles 5 420
Great Women in the Sport of Kings…
Scooter Toby Davidson Hardcover R717 R568 Discovery Miles 5 680
Unbreakable
Richard Askwith Paperback  (1)
R230 R184 Discovery Miles 1 840
Secretariat
William Nack Paperback  (2)
R288 R214 Discovery Miles 2 140
Racing Post Desk Calendar 2020
David Dew Paperback  (1)
R277 R225 Discovery Miles 2 250
RFO Flat Racing Guide 2019
Dylan Hill Paperback R306 R243 Discovery Miles 2 430
Racing Post Cheltenham Festival Guide…
Nick Pulford Paperback R366 R299 Discovery Miles 2 990
Racing Post Guide to the Flat 2019
David Dew Paperback R365 R288 Discovery Miles 2 880

 

Partners