0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > History > World history > From 1900 > Second World War

Buy Now

Target Tirpitz - X-Craft, Agents and Dambusters - the Epic Quest to Destroy Hitler's Mightiest Warship (Paperback) Loot Price: R231
Discovery Miles 2 310
You Save: R84 (27%)

Target Tirpitz - X-Craft, Agents and Dambusters - the Epic Quest to Destroy Hitler's Mightiest Warship (Paperback)

Patrick Bishop

 (1 rating, sign in to rate)
List price R315 Loot Price R231 Discovery Miles 2 310 You Save R84 (27%)

Bookmark and Share

Expected to ship within 10 - 15 working days

A gripping account of the epic hunt for Hitler's most terrifying battleship - the legendary Tirpitz - and the brave men who risked their lives to attack and destroy this most potent symbol of the Nazi's fearsome war machine. Tirpitz was the pride of Hitler's navy. To Churchill, she was 'the Beast', a menace to Britain's supply lines and a threat to the convoys sustaining Stalin's armies. Tirpitz was said to be unsinkable, impregnable -no other target attracted so much attention. In total 36 major Allied operations were launched against her, including desperately risky missions by human torpedoes and midget submarines and near-suicidal bombing raids. Yet Tirpitz stayed afloat. It was not until November 1944 that she was finally destroyed by RAF Lancaster Bombers flown by 617 Squadron - the Dambusters - in a gruelling mission that tested the very limits of human endurance. The man who led the raid - Willie Tait - was one of the most remarkable figures of the war, flying missions almost continuously right from the start. Until now his deeds have been virtually unknown. With exclusive co-operation from Tait's family, Patrick Bishop reveals the extraordinary achievement of a man who shunned the spotlight but whose name will be renowned for generations to come. The book is a magnificent, accessibly written wartime adventure, perfect for fans of Ben Macintyre's 'Agent Zigzag' or 'Operation Mincemeat'.

General

Imprint: Harperpress
Country of origin: United Kingdom
Release date: July 2012
First published: July 2012
Authors: Patrick Bishop
Dimensions: 197 x 128 x 26mm (L x W x T)
Format: Paperback - B-format
Pages: 390
ISBN-13: 978-0-00-731924-4
Categories: Books > Social sciences > Warfare & defence > Naval forces & warfare
Books > Humanities > History > History of specific subjects > Military history
Books > Social sciences > Warfare & defence > War & defence operations > Battles & campaigns
Books > Humanities > History > World history > From 1900 > Second World War
Books > History > History of specific subjects > Military history
Books > History > World history > From 1900 > Second World War
LSN: 0-00-731924-X
Barcode: 9780007319244

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners