0
Your cart

Your cart is empty

Books > Biography > Sport

Buy Now

Rapture - Fifteen Teams, Four Countries, One NBA Championship, and How to Find a Way to Win -- Damn Near Anywhere (Hardcover) Loot Price: R547
Discovery Miles 5 470
You Save: R149 (21%)
Rapture - Fifteen Teams, Four Countries, One NBA Championship, and How to Find a Way to Win -- Damn Near Anywhere (Hardcover):...

Rapture - Fifteen Teams, Four Countries, One NBA Championship, and How to Find a Way to Win -- Damn Near Anywhere (Hardcover)

Nick Nurse, Michael Sokolove; Foreword by Phil Jackson

 (sign in to rate)
List price R696 Loot Price R547 Discovery Miles 5 470 You Save R149 (21%)

Bookmark and Share

Expected to ship within 7 - 11 working days

As a rookie head coach leading a franchise that, though on a steady climb upwards, had largely been dismissed by the sports media, NBA fans had low expectations for Nick Nurse and his Raptors. But what those naysayers didn't realise was that Nurse had spent the past thirty years proving himself at every level of the game, from youth programs and college ball, to the NBA G League and Britain's struggling pro circuit. While few coaches have taken such a circuitous path to pro basketball's promise land, the journey-- which began at Keumper Catholic high school in Carroll, Iowa -- forged a coach who proved to be as unshakeable as he is personable. On the road, he is now known to bring his guitar and keyboard for late-night jazz and blues sessions. In the locker room, he's steadfast and even-keeled regardless of the score. On the court, he pulls out old school, underrated plays with astounding success. A rookie in name but a veteran in attitude, Nurse is seemingly above the chaos of the game and, with two seasons on his resume, -has established himself, incredibly, as one of the NBA's most admired head coaches. Now, in this revealing new book - which will be equal parts personal memoir, leadership manifesto, and philosophical meditation - Nurse tells his own story, while also whisking readers inside the Raptors' locker room and coach's office for an intimate study of the team culture he has built and promises to sustain. As much for readers of Ray Dalio as for fans of John Wooden and Pat Summit, the result promises to become necessary for anyone looking to forge their own path to success.

General

Imprint: Little, Brown
Country of origin: United States
Release date: 13 October 2020
Authors: Nick Nurse • Michael Sokolove
Foreword by: Phil Jackson
Dimensions: 235 x 152mm (L x W)
Format: Hardcover - Cloth over boards
Pages: 272
ISBN-13: 978-0-316-54017-9
Categories: Books > Language & Literature > Biography & autobiography > Sport
Books > Sport & Leisure > Sports & outdoor recreation > Ball games > Basketball
Books > Biography > Sport
LSN: 0-316-54017-X
Barcode: 9780316540179

Is the information for this product incomplete, wrong or inappropriate? Let us know about it.

Does this product have an incorrect or missing image? Send us a new image.

Is this product missing categories? Add more categories.

Review This Product

No reviews yet - be the first to create one!

Partners